*POOF*

by Tom Wyatt

poopHe was just right here
and then *poof* he was gone,
It seems like it was only yesterday
but in truth it’s been so long.

I used to be afraid that
I’d forget his funny little laugh
or his sweet crooked smile.
He was just right here but
it’s been such long. long while.

Even now the pain can be so sharp,
and cuts me like a knife
deeply into my broken heart,
It’s been twenty-two very long
years that we’ve been apart.

But, I haven’t forgotten his sweet crooked smile,
or his funny little laugh,
I hear it when I tickle my Thatcher or when
little Ellis takes his bath.

The pain hasn’t lessened but neither
has the love, the laughter or joy,
because I know that when I bid my earthly
adieu I’ll spend eternity with my little boy.
~ Tom Wyatt 3/2013

About the Author: Tom Wyatt earned a M.B.A. from Washington University and began his career as a stock broker then later as a small business owner. Following the death of his four-year old son, Johnny, on March 5, 1991, Tom became very active in Compassionate Friends. He currently writes and shares articles and poems for Bereaved Parents of the USA. After receiving his Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology in 2000 from the University of Missouri, Tom has been counseling bereaved parents pro bono. He and his wife, Ruth, have three children; Blake (27), Johnny (4) and Kelsey (20) and two grandchildren.

Read more by Tom Wyatt…

Join our mailing list
“We have a lot to offer!”
black 107 X 74