Grannie

by Derek Davidson

My name is Derek Davidson and I attend *Bridging the Gap (BTG). I’m 11 years old and in the 6th grade at BT Wilson Middle School. I also play the drums.

Derek

BTG is a place to go and talk about family members that have died who were close to you.

grannie and derek

My Grannie died on August 2nd which is my Mom’s birthday. She lived with us for 10 years before she got sick. My Grannie was a big part of my life. She picked me up from school and we always did some kind of exploring or art work. She loved the great outdoors and animals. She loved it so much that she wanted to share it with everyone.

She always looked for neat rocks that she could put googley eyes on. Then when she had enough, she would go to the park and set them out and watch people’s reaction when they found them. She was neat!

with rocks

My Grannie worked at the Hill Country Youth Ranch for many years as a houseparent to many young girls. She was able to teach them many skills and values. I know she loved that job because she would tell me all about it. She was able (with the help of a worker) to build a huge fireplace with beautiful rocks that she and many of the kids found. She wanted all the kids to have a stocking to hang on the mantle for Christmas. She was a giver. I miss her very much!

grannie fireplace_1

*Bridging the Gap is a program sponsored by Peterson Hospice of Kerrville, TX for bereaved children and their parents.