Love Never Dies (End of Life)

by Cassie Alex
Peterson Hospice

Doing hospice work, I have learned to enjoy the simple, the spontaneous, the people, the now, and to share my love. As we all continue to grow in our awareness of life’s meaning, we learn quickly that nothing stays the same or last a life time. Oh sure they love to sell us life time warranties, life insurance, and things that will out last us….but does it really? What does last?

Having the honor of caring for dying people daily, I have learned that they know all too well what it means to have their warranty run out or how that life insurance did not insure a life well lived. One thing these precious people do know for sure is that the days left have been given to them to fully enjoy as a gift. Their love intensifies and they become people powered by love.

Loss comes to all of us in different ways. It might be the loss of a special piece of jewelry or pocket knife that was given to you by your mother or father. It could be a pet that became a part of your family. One thing is for certain, we will all suffer loss. So what kind of hope can we hang on to or share when that loss comes close to our home? The hope rope I can throw you is this….whatever you loved that was lost, taken, or even stolen by death is this…IF YOU LOVED IT, NOTHING WILL EVER TAKE THAT LOVE AWAY….LOVE NEVER DIES! We see movies and hear songs that say, “My love will never die” and that may be true in the game of love in relationships. BUT when something or more importantly someone is taken from you that you loved at that time…you have a lifetime warranty, guaranty, and insurance that NO one can ever take that love away. That is amazing! I have seen it time and time again. I lost both of my parents eight years ago but the minute I start to tell you about them my love is ignited and is as fresh as the time they were here with me. They may have died, but that love never has. It has not faded, diminished, or been forgotten. Try it out…its true. Think of someone you have lost by death and feel that for a moment. Feel the love you had when they were alive. Did you feel the love past tense or do you still feel the love for them present tense?

We all will suffer loss but the hope rope to grab on to is that the love you have will never die, you will carry it with you to the end!! If you know of someone who is suffering from loss now throw them the hope rope that they will never lose that deep love for that person. So share love….. fill your life and heart with it….it lasts a life time.

1 Corinthians 13 ~ The Message Bible
[ The Way of Love ] If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love. Love never gives up. Love cares more for others than for self. Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have. Love doesn’t strut, Doesn’t have a swelled head, Doesn’t force itself on others, Isn’t always “me first,” Doesn’t fly off the handle, Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others, Doesn’t revel when others grovel, Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth, Puts up with anything, Trusts God always, Always looks for the best, Never looks back, But keeps going to the end. …

About the Author: Cassie Alex is the Director of Peterson Hospice. Peterson Hospice, located at 1121 Broadway, Kerrville (TX), is a non-profit hospice and a part of the Peterson Regional Medical Center Family of Programs in the Texas Hill County. Cassie has found end of life care to be a ministry and a calling. She has lived, worked, and been involved in the Kerrville community for over 30. If you have any questions or need support, you may contact Cassie at 830/258-7799. Cassie says, “Remember we are here and you are not alone.”