Home » Bereaved Parents » Adult Child » Spring is in the Air…and It Feels like a Million Knives Hitting Me All At Once

Spring is in the Air…and It Feels like a Million Knives Hitting Me All At Once

Copyright Rule

© Peggy Sweeney and Journeys Through Grief Newsletters, 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author of the article with appropriate and specific direction to the original content on the Journeys Through Grief Newsletters website http://journeysthrugrief.wordpress.com/

Check Out Our Archives

MEMORIAL ART AND CONDOLENCE GIFTS

sage sidebar Commemorating your loved ones' memories in mosaic art. Design artist, Sybil Sage! Read Sybil's story here

Gershman_Kari-Ruth Digital photo collages from your memories. Memory artist, Nancy Gershman of Art For Your Sake Read baby Kari's story here

girlandpomeranian Immortalize your dog, cat, or bird's unique character with a memorial portrait commissioned from your photos by Emma Kaufmann, Memorial Pet Portraits. Read more here.

Visit Our Other Blog

for all first responders

WEBSITES WE SUPPORT

The Sober World Magazine is published monthly using an educational and informative approach as an outreach to parents, families, groups and others coping with the drug and alcohol addiction of loved ones.

Unite families impacted by the disease of substance use disorders and mental health.

Providing support and resources to parents and others who have lost a child

Parents of Murdered Children - provides support and assistance to all survivors of homicide victims

For parents with no surviving children

WINGS OF HOPE LIVING FORWARD Provides a place for grieving moms, dads, and grandparents to come together and make "new" friends.

wordpress blog stats

by Nancy Miller

Nancy MillerSpring is already here again, the sixth one since my daughter Rachel died on Christmas night, 2008 of a drug overdose. It’s one of those seasons that smells of renewal, life moving forward, death falling away, and the whole world is reborn.  But those of us who are continually grieving don’t find solace in spring…it often accentuates our heartache, magnifying the feelings of loss and yearning. That wanting, wanting and never having again. The emptiness, the ever-present longing. 

This last weekend my husband took me to a nursery to buy annuals to plant in our garden. A simple and fun journey that we look forward to every spring. When we got there, I wandered in and out of the aisles of flowers, and into a gift shop that had angels and plaques for sale, saying, “Beloved Daughter.” People do this more frequently now, create shrines in their gardens commemorating the person who is lost to them, but it sent me spiraling like an out of control Frisbee. And not in a good direction.  I felt lost, panic stricken. My husband found me and tried to calm me down. 

We chose some periwinkle flowers, Rachel’s favorite color. When we got to check out, the woman checking the flowers accidentally knocked one of the biggest blossoms off the stem and broke it. All I could see is Rachel’s color destroyed, her life destroyed, and I snapped at the woman with a viciousness I didn’t think I had in me. She was profusely apologizing and I knew in that moment that nothing could fix this. It wasn’t about the flower, it was about my grief, my missing daughter, the one I haven’t seen now for over five years, and the periwinkle blossom brought it all flooding back. How could this poor sales clerk know that? She couldn’t. I barely made it home and my husband, as always, didn’t say one word. He never does. I felt miserable, shell shocked, both at my still searing feelings of grief as well as the horrible way I treated the sales clerk. 

This is the season that marks that time of year when life is brought into full focus again, vibrant, with all the fresh and perfume-like fragrances abounding. But for grievers, it doesn’t always offer a chance of renewal. Instead, we are reminded of our lost loved one, and unlike the sprouting buds and seeds, they are never coming back, and we are still here, reminded of time passing, seasons passing, milestone events passing, always passing. 

Rachel

My daughter’s best friend is getting married this month, too. She has invited me to the wedding. I said I’d go, but after the nursery trip, I am having second thoughts. Can I stand and watch this girl, who has been like a daughter to me, get married? Can I not think of Rachel and how she will never do this, have a child, have a life? I am questioning my ability to attend this event now. I will never see Rachel in that wedding gown, holding those flowers, hearing the music and watching her walk down the aisle. 

I am at a crossroads. The pain is still wrenching, and I suspect for me it always will be. But at the same time, I believe in my heart that tragedy of this dimension can also be a catalyst for growth and personal evolution. I am a work in progress. Not there yet, but moving in that direction, hopeful that this life altering event, the death of my precious daughter, will illuminate my life, will give me the strength to get through anything, to give to others. Perhaps this spring, 2014, is the first time I begin to smell this growth. Just a seedling now, but beginning to sprout. I’m a slow growing flower, but even if it takes a lifetime to break ground, it will have been worth the journey. 

About the Author: Nancy Miller has taught English and literature at the university and junior college levels since 1996, and served as managing editor for The Business Journal and Pacific Publishing Group in Fresno for more than six years. She currently teaches freshman composition at South Puget Sound Community College in Olympia, Washington, where she lives with her husband, Randy. Write Nancy at nancy@griefland.com or visit the Griefland Website.

Read more stories by Nancy here.


7 Comments

  1. That was extra, extra special. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and most importantly your feelings. I worry that I
    am too cowardly to make this journey that I’ve only just begun 10 months ago. Thanks again.

  2. […] Spring is in the Air…and It Feels like a Million Knives Hitting Me All At Once. […]

  3. “…hopeful that this life altering event, the death of my precious daughter, will illuminate my life, will give me the strength to get through anything, to give to others.” I plan to share this piece with a special friend who just passed the one year anniversary of her daughter’s death. Thank you for sharing and giving to all of us.

  4. Gail Hart says:

    My son Corby took his life on 9/24/12. Spring holds his birthday on May 1st and the annual NAMI walk I participate in on the second Saturday in May. I continue to keep his memory alive by being the captain for Team Corby during this month. I just do what I can to help others with a mental illness. That is what helps me go on. My heart was shattered on 9/24/12, never to be whole again. The pain of losing him is with me every second of every day. All we can do is to keep trying. Thank you for your posts, Nancy.

  5. Nancy Miller says:

    I love you, Peggy. Thank you!! xoxoxoxo Nancy

Have a comment you'd like to share?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,967 other followers